Resident quartet at Aspen Festival since 1974 and Manhattan Music School since 1984. Joined by Richard Stoltzman, clarinet, for performance of Mozart and Brahms quintets.
8th LMMC concert.
American String QuartetOct. 25, 2009

Peter Winograd - violin   Daniel Avshalomov - viola
Laurie Carney - violin   Wolfram Koessels - cello

with Richard Stoltzman - clarinet

The American String Quartet, formed in 1974 when its original members were students at the Juilliard School, was launched by winning both the Coleman Competition and the Naumburg Award the same year. It has appeared in all 50 states and in virtually every important concert hall throughout the world and was invited to perform in a series of retrospective concerts by previous Naumburg Award winners to celebrate the Foundation’s 80th anniversary. Known for its innovative approach to programming, it holds several notable residencies, and its presentations of the complete quartets of Beethoven, Schubert, Schoenberg, Bartók and Mozart have won widespread critical acclaim. Champions of new music, the Quartet has given numerous premieres.

8th LMMC appearance.

The Quartet will be joined by clarinetist Richard Stoltzman, whose unique style has won him an international reputation as both a classical and jazz musician, for the performance of the Mozart and Brahms clarinet quintets.


MOZART             Clarinet Quintet in A major, K. 581, Stadler
                                       Allegretto con variazioni

PROKOFIEV       String Quartet No. 2 in F major, Opus 92
                                       Allegro sostenuto

BRAHMS             Clarinet Quintet in B minor, Opus 115
                                       Andantino – Presto non assai,
                                               ma con sentimento
                                       Finale: Con moto