Piano trio newly formed by Canadian pianist Jon Kimura Parker and former members of the Tokyo Quartet, Martin Beaver, violin, and Clive Greensmith, cello. First Montreal and LMMC appearance.
MONTROSE TRIONov. 30, 2014

Jon Kimura Parker - piano       Martin Beaver - violin
Clive Greensmith - cello

Clive Greensmith join forces in a newly-formed piano trio. Individually they are accomplished soloists with impressive careers to their credit. Together as an ensemble they offer the music world a new experience. As one of Canada’s leading ambassadors of music, Parker has given command performances for Queen Elizabeth II, the United States Supreme Court and the Prime Ministers of Canada and Japan. He is an Officer of the Order of Canada, his country’s highest civilian honour. Martin Beaver and Clive Greensmith are both former members of the renowned Tokyo String Quartet. During its 43-year history, this Quartet collaborated with a remarkable array of composers and artists, including Jon Kimura Parker. As a soloist, Beaver has appeared with dozens of orchestras worldwide, including the Montreal Symphony. He was a top prize-winner at the international violin competitions in Indianapolis and Montreal, and won a silver medal at the Queen Elisabeth Competition in Belgium. Clive Greensmith was principal cellist of London's Royal Philharmonic Orchestra before setting out on a career as soloist and chamber musician.


TURINA                  Piano Trio in B minor, Opus 76
(1882-1949)                        Lento - Allegro molto moderato
                                            Molto vivace
                                            Lento - Andante mosso - Allegro

HAYDN                   Piano Trio in C major, Hob.XV:27

(1732-1809)                        Allegro
                                            Finale: Presto

TCHAIKOVSKY   Piano Trio in A minor, Opus 50

(1840-1893)                        Pezzo elegiaco: Moderato assai -
                                                Allegro giusto
                                            Tema con variazioni: Andante con moto
                                            Variazione finale e coda:
                                                Allegro risoluto e con fuoco