American string quartet, winner of 2009 Grammy Award for Best Chamber Music Performance. Joined by pianist Orion Weiss for Shostakovich and Schumann quintets.
3rd LMMC appearance.
Anthony Parmelee
PACIFICA QUARTET with Orion WeissOct. 2, 2016

Simin Ganatra - violin      Masumi Per Rostad - viola
Sibbi Bernhardsson
- violin      Brandon Vamos - cello
with Orion Weiss - piano

The Pacifica Quartet enjoys international stature as one of the finest ensembles of its kind. The Quartet has toured extensively on four continents and is recognized for its virtuosic approach, exuberant style and often daring repertory choices. It currently serves as the quartet-in-residence at Indiana University, a position it formerly held at the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York (2009 – 2012). In 2015 the Quartet began an additional two-year residency at the Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum in Boston. Prior to its appointment to Indiana University, the Quartet was on the faculty of the University of Illinois at Champaign-Urbana for ten years. The Pacifica Quartet also serves as resident performing artist at the University of Chicago. Formed in 1994, the Quartet quickly began winning the top chamber music competitions, including the 1998 Naumburg Chamber Music Award. In 2006 the Quartet was featured on the cover of Gramophone magazine and heralded as one of “five new quartets you should know about,” the only American quartet to make the list. In 2009, the Quartet was named “Ensemble of the Year” by Musical America; also that year it received a Grammy Award for Best Chamber Music Performance. In May 2012 the Pacifica Quartet was in Montreal for a complete cycle of the fifteen Shostakovich quartets. 3rd LMMC appearance.

In collaboration with pianist Orion Weiss, the Quartet returns to play this composer’s Piano Quintet, along with Schumann’s Quintet. Both works rank among the half dozen or so greatest examples of their kind.


MOZART                          String Quartet in D minor, K. 421 (1783)
(1756-1791)                              Allegro
                                                  Menuetto: Allegretto
                                                  Allegretto ma non troppo

SHOSTAKOVICH           Piano Quintet in G minor,
(1906-1975)                          Opus 57 (1940)
                                                  Prelude: Lento
                                                  Fugue: Adagio
                                                  Scherzo: Allegretto
                                                  Intermezzo: Lento
                                                  Finale: Allegretto

SCHUMANN                   Piano quintet in E flat major,
(1810-1856)                          Opus 44 (1842)
Allegro brillante
                                                  In modo d’una Marcia:
                                                     Un poco largamente
                                                  Scherzo: Molto vivace
                                                  Allegro ma non troppo