American string quartet, formed in 1995, winner of Coleman, Firschoff, Banff competitions and Naumburg Award, in residence at Texas University.
Miró QuartetNov. 7, 2004

Daniel Ching - violin     John Largess - viola
Sandy Yamamoyo - violin     Joshua Gindele - cello 

Formed in 1995, the Miró Quartet, named for Spanish surrealist Joan Miró, is known for its commitment to contemporary music. The Quartet met with immediate success, winning several First Prizes at competitions, a.o. the 1998 Banff International Strung Quartet Competition and the prestigious Naumburg Chamber Music Award in 2000. The Quartet has been Quartet-in-Residence at the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center Two, and was named to the Distinctive Debut Series of Carnegie Hall. Recently it was appointed Faculty String Quartet at the University of Texas at Austin, where the members of the Quartet teach and coach chamber music, as well as maintaining their active international touring schedule. Daniel Ching, a founding member, and Sandy Yamanoto are graduates of the Cleveland Institute of Music. John Largess graduated from Yale University, and Joshua Grindele, also a founding member, holds many international awards. The Quartet has made several recordings of modern music as well as of the Mendelssohn and Schubert works, soon to be released.

LMMC return engagement.


 BEETHOVEN  Quartet in A major, Opus 18 No. 5 (1799)
 GLASS  Quartet No. 5 (1991)
 DVORÁK  Quartet in F major, Opus 96B. 179  'American'